Advisory Board

ACOUSIA established a word-class scientific advisory board which includes two experts for basic science in hearing loss and regeneration of hair cells, one clinican/otologist and one expert in medicinal chemistry.

Prof. Takayuki Nakagawa:

Vice-Chairman and Associate Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery of Kyoto University Hospital, Japan has already confirmed his interest. Prof. Nakagawa is a clinician-scientist with a research focus on regenerative medicine of the inner ear. His team was the first to conduct otoprotective clinical trials with growth factors applied by a local drug delivery mode to the inner ear. His inner ear research group at a Kyoto University is closely related to the research activities surrounding the field of pluripotent stem cells headed by Prof. Yamanaka at Kyoto University. The application of pluripotent stem cell technologies is well reflected in the research activities of Prof. Nakagawa group towards the development of inner ear regeneration technologies.

Prof. Helge Rask-Andersen:

Professor of Otology at the Department of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery, Uppsala University Hospital, Sweden. He directs the Inner Ear Research Unit as well as the Cochlear and Auditory Brainstem Implant Units. He has special clinical interest in the treatment of inner ear disorders and broad experience current treatment practice in cochlear implantation as well as otologic and related skull base surgery. He is also a cell biologist focusing on human inner ear anatomy, pathology and pathophysiology. He was the first to isolate adult stem cells from the human inner ear. He is on the editorial board of many international journals, has lectured and published extensively on human inner ear anatomy and disease.

Prof. Donald Craig:

Professor for Chemistry at the Imperial College, London, UK. Donald Craig was born in Richmond, Yorkshire in 1961, and was brought up on the other side of the Pennines in Lancaster, Lancashire. After school in Morecambe, he worked for a year as a pre-university student at ICI’s Corporate Laboratory at Runcorn. He obtained his chemistry degree at Imperial College (1983), and his Ph.D. (1986) also at Imperial, working for his doctorate on insect antifeedant synthesis under the supervision of Professor Steve Ley FRS. In 1986/87 he spent 11 months as an SERC (now EPSRC)/NATO postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Professor Clark Still at Columbia University, where he worked on semi-synthetic derivatives of the ionophore monensin A in order to probe the effects of macrocyclic conformation on epoxidation stereoselectivity. He was appointed to the academic staff at Imperial College in 1987 as a lecturer in the Department of Chemistry, and in 1997 was promoted to Reader. In 2000 he was promoted to a personal Chair in the Department. In 1994 he received the ZENECA Award for Research in Organic Chemistry, and the Pfizer Academic Award. In 1996 he received one of the Glaxo Wellcome Awards for Innovative Organic Chemistry. In 1998 he was awarded a NOVARTIS Chemistry Lectureship, and received the Corday-Morgan Medal and Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry the same year.